Family Dinner

31 Jul

Things for the wedding are really starting to come together. Only 6 days left to go, so please don’t mind me if my posts are short & “to the point” in the next few days! 😉

This afternoon, my family got together for a big family lunch/dinner. My uncle (mom’s brother) lives in Florida, but just made the drive up to PA for the wedding, so he treated us all to a fantastic meal at one of our family’s favorite places – Victor Emmanuel.

“Victor’s” is what I would describe as a “no frills” restaurant. It sort of seems like you’re eating in a cafeteria! However, what Victor’s lacks in atmosphere, they make up for in taste! The food is delicious & very reasonably priced! They serve all Italian food, & have specials each night of the week. Sunday’s special is homemade linguine, so that’s what I went with!

Before I got to the linguine, I enjoyed a slice of pizza. This pizza is by far my favorite (& I’m sort of a pizza connoisseur.)

My picture turned out really blurry, but I’m posting it anyway! 🙂

Best pizza!     Not long after the pizza, my linguine with meatballs (sauce on the side!) arrived!

Time to eat!         I almost always have leftovers when we go out to eat at Victor’s, but not today! I devoured the meatballs & finished almost all of the linguine (I gave Chris the tiny portion I couldn’t eat).

For dessert, we headed back to my aunt’s house, but you’ll have to come back tomorrow for more on that! I’ll give you a little sneak peek though…

Pound cake!       You definitely don’t want to miss this recipe tomorrow! 😉

For now, I’m off to enjoy what’s left of the weekend. My sister has dubbed the upcoming 5 days as “Wedding Week,” so I need to get my relaxation in while I can!

Sort of random question, but…

What are your recommendations for a good, affordable camera? I’m in the market for a new one!

5 Responses to “Family Dinner”

  1. PaleoRunnerGirl August 1, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    You are SO smart to have a blog record of these amazing family moments before your wedding. I wish that I would have done the same! I feel like my memory of the days preceding my wedding is terrifically spotty and it makes me sad! How fun will it be to go back and re-live each day through your blog?!

    Also, that food looks incredible! I love those types of places–what they lack in ambiance is ALWAYS made up for in taste! 🙂

  2. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles August 1, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    It is wedding week! 🙂 Oh angel food cake! Can’t wait!!!
    I can’t tell you on a camera. I buy a new one every couple of years and it just isn’t enough for me…. I’m always wanting the best of both worlds: big camera gadgets in a small camera package, it just doesn’t happen that way…. I have a cannon that I love! It is small enough to fit in my purse!

    • forthesakeofcake August 1, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

      It only looks like angel food cake! 😉

      I agree! I don’t want a huge camera, but my little one isn’t cutting it any more!

  3. stephsnacks August 1, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Wow you are almost at the finish line for the wedding! I can’t wait to see pictures. I use multiple camera’s, to be honest. Mine aren’t that ‘up to date’ though :\

Leave a comment