Grandma’s Butter Pound Cake

1 Aug

My Grandma was an amazing woman, & I’m so happy to share this recipe with you all today. (Thanks again for passing along another great recipe, Aunt Tisa!) Sadly, my grandma passed away when I was in the sixth grade from breast cancer. Happily, her recipes live on & it’s a way for us to still feel her presence.

A thing of beauty   I mentioned yesterday that my uncle is visiting PA from Florida, so my aunt baked up my grandma’s delicious butter pound cake for us to all enjoy for dessert.

(Disclaimer: They don’t call it pound cake because it’s healthy!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. butter (not margarine)
  • 1/4 c. vegetable oil (like Crisco or Wesson)
  • 3 c. granulated sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 c. milk (not low fat or skim milk)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. of almond, lemon, or rum extract (my aunt noted that my family prefers almond)

Directions:

  • Cream together butter, oil, & sugar.
  • Add the eggs.
  • Sift together flour & baking powder.
  • Gradually add flour to the butter/egg mixture.
  • Next, add the milk.
  • Lastly, add the vanilla & almond/lemon/rum extract.
  • Pour batter into a greased & floured angel food pan (you can also use Pam baking spray).
  • Bake for 90 minutes at 325*; cool the cake upright in the pan for about 30 minutes before turning over onto a wire rack to finish cooling.

Finished cake   With toppings

My aunt included a few “hints” when sharing this recipe:

  • Use a wooden skewer (instead of a toothpick) to test for doneness.
  • Combine the ingredients using a standing mixer because this recipe makes a large quantity of thick batter. (Can’t wait to try this out with my new KitchenAid mixer!)
  • While baking, this cake will develop a crunchy sugary, top crust. (Also known as, the best part!)
  • When you remove it from the pan, you will need to flip the cake over so that it is standing on its flat bottom. (This cake will not help you achieve a flat bottom yourself, however!)
  • A “serving suggestion” from my uncle: Toast a slice of the cake & top with butter!

We topped our slices with so fresh fruit salad & Cool Whip… perfection!

My slice    Topped! Delicious!

Let me know if you try this recipe & how it turns out! Like I mentioned above, I’ve got a brand new (pink!) KitchenAid mixer, so I’ll have to try it myself soon! I also remember a fantastic homemade brownie recipe of my grandma’s, so I’ll have to track that down & share that as well.

What’s your favorite “family recipe”?

2 Responses to “Grandma’s Butter Pound Cake”

  1. Cait's Plate August 2, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    I come from a family FULL of bakers and cookers so it would be hard to ever choose – but I think my grandmother’s Swedish Buns – they’re INCREDIBLE but so far only my Mom can successful make them!

Leave a Reply

