Archive | 8:22 pm

Long Weekend

2 Sep

I’m lucky enough to have had today off, as well as Monday. If only every week could consist of 4 days of work & 4 days of vacation… the world would be a much happier place, don’t you think? 😉

I kicked off my long weekend with a nail appointment first thing this morning! Afterwards, I made a trip to the closest Trader Joe’s, which unfortunately for me is about a 30 minute trip.

I was able to stock up on lots of goodies:

I purchased a few new-to-me items, including these dark chocolate covered peanut butter wafer cookies:

And got some old favorites, like my beloved soft peanut brittle:

Remember this recipe?

After my little shopping trip, I did some cleaning around the apartment, caught up on my DVR, & mustered up some energy to hit the gym. I really, really didn’t feel like going (& can’t say that I worked up much of a sweat) but at least I got there & did something, right?

**********

Eventually it was time to get dinner going. On the menu tonight – turkey burgers!

No Measure Turkey Burgers

Makes 6 burgers

(All ingredient measurements were “eye-balled”.)

Ingredients:

  • About 1 pound lean, ground turkey
  • About 1/2 c. (I used two palmfulls) of bread crumbs
  • About 2 tbsp. ketchup
  • Chopped peppers & onions
  • Sprinkle of poultry seasoning
  • Sprinkle of garlic salt
  • Black pepper
  • Lemon juice

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients.
  • Heat a large grill pan or griddle to medium-high heat; spray with cooking spray.
  • Cook turkey burgers through, flipping every few minutes. (I didn’t time exactly how long each burger took… whoops! I just cooked until I didn’t see any more pink!)

I served these burgers up with a side of Alexia Waffle Cut Sweet Potato Fries. This was my first time trying any Alexia product, & I was very pleased. These frozen fries tasted fresh & had a nice “kick” to them (they’re seasoned with salt, onion, garlic, & a chili/black/red pepper combo).

   This was the perfect end-of-summer meal!

After dinner, Stewie started whining about how he hasn’t gotten much blog attention the last few days. I told him I’d be sure to post a really cute picture of him tonight! 😉

Do you have any fun plans for the long, holiday weekend?

What’s your favorite way to enjoy a burger?