Puppy Playtime

4 Sep

My parents invited Chris & I up for dinner tonight & we happily accepted. It was also a good opportunity to get all of our dogs together for some puppy playtime!

Tonight’s menu? Grilled steak kabobs (with peppers & onions), potato salad & dinner rolls. I also brought my apple cake for dessert!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My dad took care of grilling the kabobs, & my mom made the potato salad using a recipe from Kraft Foods Magazine. I ate most of my kabob (they were more filling than I expected), a serving of potato salad & two rolls.

One of the best things about my parents’ house is their large, fenced-in yard; this is especially important since we are surrounded by dogs! After dinner, we watched the dogs run around & play together.

Soon it was time for dessert, & I enjoyed my piece of apple cake ala mode (again!); this time with some fudge swirl ice cream – yum! I think this cake is even better a day later.

Now it’s time to relax for a little. Even though tomorrow is Labor Day, I’ll definitely be laboring – trying to get a jump start on the week ahead!

Hope you’re making the most of this long weekend!

Are you a dog person, or a cat person (or a fish/bird/turtle/etc. person ;-))? I think it’s pretty obvious where my heart lies. 🙂

14 Responses to “Puppy Playtime”

  1. Donna Komorosky September 4, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    It was so nice having my daughter and son-in-law for dinner and all the doggies. Definitely a dog person, but you knew that.

    • forthesakeofcake September 4, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      We had fun! And now Stewie & Chance are passed out. 🙂 I’m sure Tobey & Tyson are sleeping too.

  2. cleaneatingchelsey September 4, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    awww the pups are too cute! I love it when Charlie gets some play time because he is worn out!

    • forthesakeofcake September 5, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

      We’re the same way with all of our dogs! That’s a huge bonus to getting them all together at once — they’re totally exhausted afterwards!

  3. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats September 4, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Well, I have a goldfish, Neville, who turned 1 a couple weeks ago! But really, I’m a dog person – especially big dogs!

    • forthesakeofcake September 5, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

      Fun! 🙂 I always liked having fish, but I hated having to clean their bowls because I didn’t like touching them! So usually, that job fell to my mom… whoops.

  4. Rachel Zeigler September 4, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Dogs all the way :-). They love you no matter what!! I am also partial to guinea pigs and rabbits.

  5. Danielle Spellman @Squirrel Snackin' September 4, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    I’m in love with your black pug! Still. lol I’d say I’m a dog person but I’ve got love for allll the animals. 🙂

  6. Sally Anne @ PaleoRunnerGirl September 5, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    I am a TOTAL dog person! I like both big dogs and small dogs, but my dream is to have a Great Dane! 🙂

    • forthesakeofcake September 5, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      I’m definitely more of a “big dog” person, even though my pug is small… he’s got a big dog personality! 🙂

  7. eat healthy. be happy. live well. September 5, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I’m really not an animal person, but I do love my pup! I’d definitely take dogs over cats any day though!

    Sounds like a fun evening. Enjoy your Labor Day- I’m working too 🙂

    • forthesakeofcake September 5, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Your dog is super cute! I’m hoping the extra work today will make the rest of my week less stressful!

Leave a Reply

