First Day

29 Aug

Today was my first day back at school.

Well actually, it was an in-service day, but technically I was back to work. The kids come back tomorrow.

Transitioning from summer break to the school year is not easy. I’ve heard a lot of people talk about how spoiled teachers are with their months of vacation. Well, I know for a fact that I work a year’s worth in those nine & a half months, & I think most teachers would say the same.

During the summer, while I definitely didn’t sleep in & lounge around in my pjs all day (or at least not every day), I could still do whatever I wanted once I woke up. It was easy to get up & go to the gym at 5:20AM, because I knew I could nap later in the day. Nap time is a rare thing September through June!

So… what do my days look like now? Here’s a quick run down of how today went:

  • 5:00AM – Alarm goes off
  • 5:15 AM – Roll out of bed & get read for work
  • 7:20AM – Leave for work (6:40AM on a “normal” day.)
  • 8:00AM-3:30PM – Work (7:30-3:00/3:30ish on a “normal” day.)
  • 3:30PM-4:00PM – Errands
  • 4:00PM-4:45PM – Walk Stewie & do some stuff around the apartment
  • 5:00PM – 5:45PM – Gym
  • 6:00PM – 7:00PM – Cook & eat dinner
  • 7:00PM – 7:30ishPM – Blog
  • 7:30PM – Bedtime (usually around 10:00PM) – Shower/relax/prepare for tomorrow

I am a scheduler. I like to know what my days consist of.

I’ve realized that the only way I’ll be able to keep up a healthy lifestyle (& the blog) is by having a schedule & sticking to it. Of course there will be some days that I’m busier than others. Some days I will need to stay late at school, or have to go back in the evening for parent/teacher conferences. Some days, I’ll want to curl up on the couch with Chris & Stewie & not worry about blogging. There might even be an extra “rest day” from the gym appearing on my Workout Log.

However, when all is said & done, it’s important to me to keep up the healthy lifestyle I’ve grown accustomed to this summer. Going to the gym is something that must happen frequently for me. I love writing this blog, so that’s a non-negotiable as well.  It’s a necessity that I keep trying new things & cooking in the kitchen – not allowing myself to fall back into the “frozen dinner trap” again!

It will definitely be a challenge to keep everything balanced, but I hope you’ll stick around to see how it all ends up! 🙂

I’ll leave you with a few pictures I snapped of my classroom today. After all, I’ll be spending a lot of time here through June!

 

What are your best time management tips? I write a to do list every night for the following day!

10 Responses to “First Day”

  1. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles August 29, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Getting an early start has been helping me since school has started. I’m doing a quick workout in the mornings and trying to knock stuff out of the park before I get too tired in the afternoon…… Yah, and I spent all summer at school getting ready for this year. So, I hear you on the teachers and their ‘summer vacations’ If is was soooo easy, wouldn’t everyone do it.
    GOOD LUCK tomorrow!!!! 🙂

    • forthesakeofcake August 29, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Thank you! I think I’m too tired from today to be nervous!

  2. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats August 29, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    haha that’s some serious scheduling! I have all my classes, workouts and appointments in my google calender, but I don’t schedule my free time. But google calendars is a great too. you can create different calendars for different things, such as class, workouts, personal, etc. and they’re different colors and all on the same page. LOVE google.

    • forthesakeofcake August 29, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

      I can admittedly be totally neurotic! I don’t actually list my day out like that every day, just a snapshot of what today was like! 😉

  3. eat healthy. be happy. live well. August 29, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    I get my workouts done in the morning so I don’t have to worry about it the rest of the day. I also try to make some sort of meal plan for the week. It makes my evenings in the kitchen much easier! Sounds like you’ve got a good plan already!

    Good luck next week when the kids come back!

    • forthesakeofcake August 30, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

      I wish I could do AM workouts, since I definitely prefer that, but I get up at 5:00 & leave by 6:30/6:40 every morning. I just can’t bear to wake up any earlier than 5!

  4. Sally Anne @ PaleoRunnerGirl August 30, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    I LOVE your detailed schedule! I always make one each day! Even thought I go off script it makes me feel “together!” Your pug poster is SO cute! I love the frame, too! 🙂

    • forthesakeofcake August 30, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      I definitely have to have a list of things to get accomplished, or I’d become super lazy!

      Thanks! I love that poster too!

  5. Eileen Klang August 31, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    The UDel pennant on the podium is a nice touch!!

Leave a Reply

