Farmers Market Finds

26 Aug

Today is my last official weekday off before school starts. (Although we have next Friday & the following Monday off for Labor Day, so I can’t complain!)

So on my last carefree day, I decided to do a little back-to-school clothing shopping, then hit up a local farmers market. I had been to the Shillington Farmers Market once before, but on that visit I was there strictly for cupcakes. Today, I wanted to stock up on fresh fruit!

I was able to purchase 6 oranges, 4 Fuji apples, strawberries, 2 lemons (to use in a dinner recipe next week) & 1 avocado for $15.00!

I was a little shocked to arrive home from my errands & find this:

That would be a rather well-stocked fruit drawer! Chris usually eats a ton of fruit during the week, so I was surprised to see that we were actually good to go for a while yet.

What to do, what to do? I had recently won a giveaway on Chelsey’s blog for Clearly Fresh produce storage bags. According to the website…

“Clearly Fresh® bags are large clear zip bags (12” X 14”), with a breathable 3 inch square membrane on one side. Each pack contains 10 bags. These bags enable you to keep your fruits and vegetables fresher longer for less waste and more savings. Its large size, allows you to store an entire bunch of bananas or a whole head of lettuce with room to spare. PLUS the bags are re-closeable and recyclable.”

I packed up 2 Clearly Fresh bags with my extra apples & oranges, & I guess we’ll see what happens! 😉

**********

Backtracking to last night, Chris & I enjoyed another crock pot chicken meal that I’d like to share.

I modeled this dinner off of Campbell’s Slow Cooker Chicken in Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato Sauce, but made quite a few changes (sun-dried tomatoes are kind of expensive, in case you didn’t know!).

Slow Cooker Tomato Artichoke Chicken

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 can Campbell’s condensed cream of chicken soup
  • About 1 cup white wine (I just “eyeballed” the amount I added)
  • Sprinkle of garlic powder
  • 1 jar artichoke hearts (drained & chopped)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • Brown rice
  • Basil

Directions:

  • Combine the soup, wine, garlic powder, artichoke hearts, & tomatoes in a slow cooker.
  • Add the chicken, & turn to coat the chicken with the soup mixture.

  • Cook on low for 7-8 hours (I did 8, but 7 would be plenty).
  • Serve chicken on a bed of brown rice, & top with extra soup mixture & basil.

This was a delicious & very filling meal. I actually couldn’t finish my portion, even though I really wanted to! (Stew wanted in as well!)

And I can’t forget to make mention of dessert – a peanut butter cup Blizzard from Dairy Queen!!! Heavenly.

What’s your favorite ice cream “treat”? Blizzards are pretty high on my list, but I love a good sundae too!

10 Responses to “Farmers Market Finds”

  1. eat healthy. be happy. live well. August 26, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Great finds at the farmer’s market! Ours doesn’t have strawberries anymore and we definitely don’t have oranges!

    My favorite cream treat is definitely ice cream! And because I have a few mini Reese’s cups in cabinet, you’ve inspired me to go make my own PB cup milkshake 🙂

  2. Alicia Endy August 26, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    I had a blizzard for dessert last night too. My favorite is the Oreo cookie jar.

    • forthesakeofcake August 26, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

      Oreo cookie JAR blizzard?! How did I not know about that???

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance August 27, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Gahh, a girl after my own heart I am SUCH a blizzard lover 🙂 I like to put Heath in mine, though.. THE BOMB.

  4. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles August 27, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Let us know how those bags work! -Enjoy your last few days!!!
    AND of a blizzard. ❤ Love blizzards…. Haven't had one in ages. But the crunch topping on vanilla ice cream… I'm thinking I need to do some 'shopping' in a near by town JUST to get some DQ ice cream with the crunch topping!!! (40 miles for ice cream, I have a problem…)

  5. stephsnacks August 27, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    mmmm that blizzard sure does look good. I love frozen yogurt of any kind 😀

Leave a Reply

