The Honeymoon, Day 5

24 Aug

If you’ve missed any of the other honeymoon re-cap posts, you may find them here (day 1), here (day 2), here (day 3), & here (day 4)!

**********

For our last full day in Disney, we decided to take it easy & visit Downtown Disney for a little shopping. It was a nice way to end the vacation!

Display in front of the Lego store!Eventually, we stopped somewhere for lunch. I believe I got some sort of wrap (I can’t remember anymore), but I was really excited to try a cupcake from Babycakes NYC (they had a tiny bakery area set up in the place where we ate).

Babycakes NYC cupcakes are refined sugar-free, wheat-free, gluten-free, soy-free, egg-free, vegan cupcakes! While I’m not vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free, I’ve still heard of these cupcakes before & was excited to give them a try! I went with the red velvet:

Babycakes Red velvet

It was good, but I could sort of taste that this was a “healthified” cupcake. That didn’t stop me from eating every last bite though! 😉

After our walk around Downtown Disney, we ended up returning to our hotel & lounging around & napping! (Napping is the best, isn’t it?) I did not want to get up, but our dinner reservation at California Grill was calling our names!

California Grill is located on the 15th floor of the Contemporary Resort & has really awesome views of the Magic Kingdom. There was actually a storm rolling in the night of our reservation & we could actually watch it progress closer & closer as we were eating our dinner!

I went with the scallops for my entree:

ScallopsI ate every last scallop, but not too much of the vegetables underneath. They had absorbed a lot of oil & I just wasn’t feelin’ it!

For dessert, I ordered some sort of banana caramel deliciousness!

Dessert  Afterwards, Chris & I spent a few minutes on the observation deck, & snapped a few pictures of the Disney property below:

Magic Kingdom Space Mountain Disney

Ferry boat Cinderella's castle

The following morning, it was time to head back home to PA! We had a wonderful time & a great honeymoon!

Heading home   Lucky for me, as our plane was landing in Philly, I was able to snap a few pics of Citizens Bank Park (go Phils)! 🙂

Home sweet home!   Phillies!

Do you enjoy traveling? I enjoy getting away, but I’m always happy to come home again!

8 Responses to “The Honeymoon, Day 5”

  1. Donna Komorosky August 24, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    I’m ready as a family to return to Niagara on the Lake our on little “Stars Hollow”…

    • forthesakeofcake August 24, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      I definitely agree! We need to find a place where I can bring the pug!

      • Corinne August 25, 2011 at 8:29 am #

        And the skinnayminnay!

      • forthesakeofcake August 25, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

        Of course!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance August 25, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    I’m a huge fan of Downtown Disney 🙂 I live in Orlando so I actually take trips over there all the time just to hang out.

    Living near Disney definitely has it’s perks! Glad you had fun 🙂

    • forthesakeofcake August 25, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

      It was a lot more relaxing & low-key than our days at the parks, that’s for sure!

  3. stephsnacks August 25, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Those pictures of Disney are so nice! I am definitely a big traveler. At the end of the day, it is nice to come home but I definitely love traveling — even if it is just a road trip.

    • forthesakeofcake August 25, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      Agreed! I’m dying to visit a New England state soon — like a cute bed & breakfast or something fun!

Leave a Reply

