Sweet Potato Meatloaf

19 Aug

This past Sunday, before Chris & I headed off to the grocery store, I perused some of my favorite blogs looking for some recipe ideas. I came across this recipe for sweet potato meatloaf on Julie’s blog & it seemed simple to make & something that Chris would really enjoy.

I was excited because this recipe gave me the opportunity to use some of my new kitchen stuff! I received these mini loaf pans as part of a bakeware set from Crate and Barrel at my bridal shower back in June:

New bakeware     First, I got all of my ingredients ready.

The goodsI followed Julie’s original recipe closely, but omitted the honey mustard because we didn’t have any. Instead, I turned to my new spice rack, also from Crate & Barrel & also a bridal shower gift, & saw mustard seed. I added a few shakes of the mustard seed, along with the garlic salt the original recipe called for.

Spicy!       Spices     Side-view spices       Another (small) change I made to the recipe was substituting lean, ground turkey for ground beef.

I mixed all of the ingredients (again, following this original recipe), sprayed each loaf pan with cooking spray, & popped them in the oven to bake for about an hour.

All mixed up         Mini loafs!       Ready for baking      When the meatloaf was close to being finished, I boiled some more fresh corn on the cob for Chris & I to enjoy as our side dish (just like the other day). This time, however, I used a method I learned from Rachael Ray to remove the corn from the cob.

If you’ve never seen her do this on one of her shows before, all you do is take a small bowl & place it upside down inside of a larger bowl. Then, you can hold your corn cob on the small bowl to keep it stable, & use a knife to remove the corn. It worked like a charm!

Rachael Ray's trick      Soon, the meatloaf was finished cookin’!

Ready for eating!     Crispy tops!

I served up one of the mini meatloaves, plus some corn for myself, but I only ended up eating about half of the meatloaf! It was good, but hearty, & the portion was a bit too large for me. Chris, on the other hand, ate his serving plus the remainder of mine, so I knew he enjoyed it as well!

Dinner is served Meaty!      Chris enjoyed his dinner a little later than me, since he has been working late this week. As he was eating, he asked why I always take pictures as I’m making the food, but never pictures of him enjoying the food! So with that, please enjoy these pictures of Chris enjoying his dinner. Take note of our little “beggar boy” in the corner of the second picture. 😉

Good stuff Is there any left for the pug?!

What’s your most-used kitchen tool/gadget? I’m having fun trying out all of my new stuff! I can’t wait to start using my food processor!

2 Responses to “Sweet Potato Meatloaf”

  1. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles August 19, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Even after a year, I am still using all of my new things and they still feel new!!! 🙂 That loaf seems like a GREAT idea! Not so sure the husband would go for it but it would make great leftovers for school!!! Mmmmm!
    I can’t live without my blender…. I just like smoothies and frozen things too much!!!

    • forthesakeofcake August 20, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      You could always sub out the sweet potato if you think that might scare him away! 🙂

Leave a Reply

