The Honeymoon, Day 2

18 Aug

If you missed the re-cap of Day 1, you may find it —> here!

**********

Our first full day in Disney, we decided to visit Magic Kingdom. Well, our first full day there also happened to be the one day where it rained – the entire day! Oh, except for when we were leaving the park; then it cleared up! 😉

Anyway, because of the bad weather, I don’t have too many pictures. I had a small backpack on & the backpack was underneath a poncho, so getting my camera out to take pictures (in the pouring rain!) was certainly not an easy task!

Not too long after arriving in the park, we were on the hunt for lunch. (We headed into the parks in late-morning/early-afternoon to avoid the crowds!) We found somewhere that looked like it would provide good food & shelter from the rain, so we headed inside!

I got a BBQ pork sandwich, that came with a side of fries. Well actually, I could have chosen apple slices, but… I didn’t! Chris & I joked by the end of the week that we never ate so many fries & pieces of bread as we did on this vacation!

LunchLunch was good, but the real star of the show was dessert! That was another thing Chris & I consumed in copious amounts – dessert! Most times it came with our meals, & who were we to reject what was ours?

I went with the carrot cake & can honestly say that I wasn’t expecting much. This was a “cafeteria-type” place, so I figured it would just be so-so.

Carrot cakeWell, I was wrong! The cake was good, but the frosting was amazing! I am a frosting girl & like the really sugary stuff & this was just perfect. 🙂

We spent the afternoon waiting in line for a few rides, & we even rode Big Thunder Mountain Railroad in what proved to be the heaviest rain of the day!

big-thunder-mountain-railroad(source)  

It had actually cleared up for a little & as soon as we got in line for this ride it started raining. Then it proceeded to rain harder & harder the whole hour we were waiting. When it was finally our turn, the car that held the previous riders was soaked! I had to keep my eyes closed the entire time to make sure my contacts didn’t slip out, Chris & I both ended up with puddles in our poncho-covered laps, & my hair was so soaked it looked like I just got out of the shower! But, we had fun & were laughing the entire time! 🙂

Eventually, we dried off & headed to our dinner at Tony’s Town Square Restaurant. I started with some bread:

Bread Followed up by my entree of chicken parm:

SAMSUNG            And ending with dessert, which was some sort of lemon cake:

CakeAll of the food was good, but nothing too out-of-this world! We ate at a lot of places, & while none of our meals were bad, this probably wasn’t at the top of my favorites.

After dinner, we checked out a couple of shops, finally rode Space Mountain (it had been down earlier in the day) & finally decided to take our water-logged selves back to the hotel!

If you’ve ever been to Disney/Magic Kingdom, what’s your favorite ride? I love Space Mountain (even though I usually am not a fan of roller-coasters). And how cute is Peter Pan’s Flight?! 

8 Responses to “The Honeymoon, Day 2”

  1. Rachel Zeigler August 18, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    I love Disney :-). I am not sure if I could pick just one favorite. I am a sucker for the Dumbo ride, Haunted Mansion, and I could never forget mine and my sisters ultimate fav The Carousel of Progress!!

    • forthesakeofcake August 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

      haha Chris & I “rode” the Carousel of Progress mainly to get out of the rain! Then I proceeded to sing the “theme song” for the rest of our trip! 🙂

  2. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles August 18, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    I think I would have found something else to do 😉 HA! Kidding, you’re there and need to experience all the fun! I love Disney! It has been ages since I went but I did enjoy splash mountain and LOVE Peter Pan’s flight only because it reminded me of watching it with my grandma! ❤ …. I think a super sweet carrot cake = win! mmmmm! Glad it was sooo good! The ones that sneak up on you are the best!

    • forthesakeofcake August 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

      Peter Pan’s flight is one of the best; it’s such a cute ride!

  3. Sally Anne @ PaleoRunnerGirl August 18, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I am a TOTAL frosting girl. When I found out I cannot tolerate gluten I said, “No big deal–as long I can still eat frosting!

    Picking a favorite ride is impossible. As lame as it sounds, I truly love “It’s a small world” and I also adore “Peter Pan.” The “Tea-cups” are also so stinking cute!

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance August 18, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Space Mountain is MY favorite too! (Next to the parade, which isn’t exactly a ride but still 😉 )

    I go to school in Orlando so I live right near all of these shenanigans! Glad to see you’re having a blasty

    • forthesakeofcake August 19, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

      We didn’t get to catch any of the parades! I’m not even sure they were going on since it was raining so much? Oooh fun! I’d love to be able to visit all of the Disney parks more frequently!

Leave a Reply

