Simple Summer Supper

17 Aug

I have a new BFF – my slow cooker! 😉

Yesterday, I used my slow cooker to help my simple supper come together quickly! I turned to Julie’s many pulled pork & chicken recipes for reference as I got to work!

First things first – I lined the crock pot with a Reynolds Slow Cooker liner (another time saver that makes clean-up a breeze).

Time saver!    I placed 3 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the crock pot, seasoned them with salt & pepper, & added enough chicken stock to cover the chicken.

Chicken     Ready to cook!        I set the cooker to “low” & let it do its thing from about 9:30AM to 5:30PM.

When it was time to put dinner together, I boiled some fresh corn on the cob for about 10 minutes to serve as a side dish!

Boilin' Cookin' up     Next, it was time to put the pulled BBQ chicken sandwiches together. I placed the 3 chicken breasts in a bowl, & using 2 forks, easily shredded them up!

Cooked chicken    Ready for shreddin'       Pulled chicken     Next up was adding the BBQ sauce. Chris chose Sweet Baby Ray’s at the grocery store this week, & I have to say, he picked a winner! I started by adding a small amount, then mixed everything together & continued to add more sauce!

BBQ sauce     Ready for mixin'

Just as the sandwiches were coming together, the corn was ready as well.

Cooked corn     I placed a heap of the shredded chicken on top of an Arnold Whole Wheat Sandwich Roll & added a side of corn on the cob, topped with a little butter & pepper.

Arnolds     Dinner is served!

Simple supper

I loved how easy this meal was to assemble & clean up. Meals like this will definitely become “staples” for me when the school years starts up soon!

What’s your favorite simple & quick meal?

6 Responses to “Simple Summer Supper”

  1. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles August 17, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    You’ll learn so much about cooking in the first year of marriage! And try SOOOOO many new things! It’s fun!!! 🙂 Way to get after it!
    I’ve been craving a sweet potato for supper like something crazy!

    • forthesakeofcake August 18, 2011 at 8:23 am #

      I can already tell that I will! Before this, I’ve never really had a need to make much myself. The last time I lived on my own, I feel like I lived off of frozen food or prepared meals. I even had to goggle “how to boil corn on the cob” HAHA my poor husband…

  2. Kelsey @utmosthealth August 18, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    Maybe I am just weird but I am creeped out by those liner things! LOL I just feel like they could be leaking weird things in my food…how did you like them?? The food looks yummyy! I agree with Julie you learn SOOO much about cooking the first year of marriage! Its great fun though 🙂

    • forthesakeofcake August 18, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      No, I get it! I was a little leary about using them, but they worked out well & the food tasted fine. Plus, my laziness when it comes to washing dishes trumped any fear I had!

  3. Cait's Plate August 18, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Now that’s my kinda dinner!! Looks incredible 🙂

Leave a Reply

