The Honeymoon, Day 1

16 Aug

Early on the Monday morning following our wedding, we headed out from Philadelphia to our honeymoon in Disney World!

We arrived in Florida at around 10:30AM, & headed off to our resort, Port Orleans Riverside. We were able to check-in right away, & headed off to check out our room. The hotel property was absolutely gorgeous!

Port Orleans     Port Orleans

We didn’t spend too much time hanging around the hotel; we had a very important appointment to get to! I had (secretly!) scheduled a couple’s massage for Chris & I at the Grand Floridian Resort & Spa.

Grand Floridian     Grand Floridian

We headed to the Grand Floridian, & decided to grab some lunch before our massages. We ate at a “quick service” restaurant, Gasparilla Grill & Games. The name makes it sound sort of silly, but Chris & I both really enjoyed our meals here!

I had a turkey BLT, which came with chips & a side salad of tomatoes & mozzarella (loved that!).

Turkey BLT Side salad

For dessert, I devoured a giant cookie, while Chris had a German-chocolate cupcake!

Cookie monster! Chris & cupcake

After lunch, we headed off to our massages.

Massage time!        Chris had never had a professional massage before & I hadn’t for a long time. It felt good to be able to relax after the stress leading up to the wedding!

On our way back from our massages, I snapped a few more pictures. The grounds of the Grand Floridian were beautiful!

View from the Grand Floridian       Chris

When we got back to our hotel, it was practically time to get ready for dinner, so we did just that! Our reservation was at Fulton’s Crab House in Downtown Disney. We decided to take a boat over from our hotel. While we waited for the boat, we snapped a few pictures:

Me!  Our resort

Mr. & Mrs.

Taking the boat ended up being a bad idea; I continued to feel like I was swaying on the boat throughout our entire dinner! I’m not a happy camper when something puts a damper on meal time! 😉

Anyway, we started with some bread; a buttered roll as well as a piece of lavash with some of Fulton’s own crab boursin (which I now have the recipe for & hope to make soon!).

Carbs! For my entree, I ordered the tuna steak which was good, not great. I gave Chris a few bites & he really liked it, but I thought it was way too salty! Maybe it was the “sea sickness” talking? It didn’t matter though; we were excited to be on our honeymoon! 🙂

So-so entree Chris & I headed back to the hotel room after dinner; it looked like a nasty storm was brewing, so we wrapped things up rather abruptly at Fulton’s! We had been up since 3:00AM that morning & had an exciting day at Magic Kingdom coming up next…

What’s your favorite kind of seafood? I love lobster! Scallops are a close second!

10 Responses to “The Honeymoon, Day 1”

  1. Food, Shoes and Booze August 16, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    The resort looks beautiful! I love Disney so much.. I haven’t been there in forever! My favorite seafood is either salmon or shrimp.. tough choice 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about the rest!

    • forthesakeofcake August 16, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      We were both pleasantly surprised by how nice it was! I hadn’t been there since I was about 12 or 13, so it was fun to go again as an adult!

  2. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles August 16, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    YAY!!! Massages and a giant cooke!!! ….Looks like you two were off to a great start (minus the sea-sickness!) Oooo, how did you grab the recipe?! I hear you on the being up early and all, it takes it out of a person!!!

    • forthesakeofcake August 17, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      They actually had the recipe printed on little cards at the table!

  3. Sally Anne @ PaleoRunnerGirl August 16, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    The Grand Floridian is SO gorgeous. The last time I went to Disney it was Christmastime and the decorations were amazing. That hotel is marvelous. I bet you both needed those massages after the craziness of the wedding + traveling. What a great surprise! I am sure you got many extra credit wife points!

    Sadly, I am horribly allergic to seafood…The closest I get is goldfish crackers. 🙂

  4. stephsnacks August 17, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    It looks like you had a blast from the very start on your honey moon! My favorite seafood is definitely Lobster!

  5. Sarah August 26, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    I’m loving reading your honeymoon posts!! My husband and I took our honeymoon at Disney World as well, we had planned to split our time between Orlando and St Pete – but we were between hurricanes and the beaches were closed. So instead, we ended up spending 1/2 days all week at the parks and playing like kids. So fun!

Leave a Reply

