Stressed

3 Aug

Being 3 days out from my wedding has got me thinking a little bit about how I handle stress.

During the school year, I feel like I’m constantly in a stressed-out state. Between lesson planning, preparation & grading, I feel like there’s no time for much else.

Since school is out for summer, my stress level has dropped drastically, but of course my impending nuptials are causing some of those usually strictly “school-year feelings” to resurface.

Luckily, I found this article on Shape.com that gives 5 tips for managing stress during the week of your wedding. (Pretty convenient, no?)

Tip #1 – Take time for you.

I’m definitely trying to make sure I have time to decompress each day (this time is usually spent reading some of my favorite blogs), but it’s becoming more difficult as we near the end of the week. However, I’m looking forward to my mani/pedi scheduled for Friday!

Tip #2 – Stay in the moment.

I’ve heard this tip from so many people. Even though wedding planning is stressful, I’m sure I’ll be a little sad when it’s over, so I’m going to try to enjoy the next few days.

Tip #3 – Have a date night.

Chris & I don’t have a typical “date” scheduled, but we do spend time together almost every day. In fact, I think tomorrow we are exchanging wedding gifts, so that can count as a date, right?

Tip #4 – Treat your body right.

I’m definitely not denying myself, but I am well aware I should be eating a bit healthier, as evidenced by last night’s dinner & today’s pit stop at Sonic (hey, it was convenient as we were out running errands). At least I’ve been keeping up my gym routine! I’m hoping to be a little more aware of the foods I’m eating in the next 2 days so I don’t wake up feeling crummy & bloated on Saturday.

Tip #5 – Be realistic.

I think I’ve done a pretty good job of being realistic throughout this entire process. (Of course, I have had my moments.) Everything will turn out how it’s supposed to, & if there’s a “mess-up” I’m pretty sure no one will even notice.

How do you deal with stress? If you’re married, were you stressed before the big day & how did you handle it?

7 Responses to “Stressed”

  1. Corinne August 3, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    YAY for mani/pedi on Friday! I can’t wait either!

  2. Alicia Endy August 3, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    I didn’t think I was stressed out until the day of rehearsal. Two of our groomsmen were late and it just pushed me over the edge and I started crying. Once I had a good cry I felt 100 times more relaxed and could go back to enjoying my day.

  3. Colleen Tutella August 3, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Sounds like you are applying a pretty healthy attitude to things. Staying in the moment and not trying to control everything (what will be will be) are true keys to staying peaceful! Ever try any meditation? Quietly sitting with yourself, deep breaths, maybe some yoga… all good for some re-centering. Best of luck with everything — it is going to be a beautiful day!

  4. Rachel Zeigler August 3, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    I don’t remember being stressed on my wedding day. However I did get a little bridezilla at the reception when the DJ didn’t have the music that we wanted to walk into.Just take a couple deep breaths and remember that nothing is perfect and everything will be fine :-). It’s going to be a beautiful day, I promise :-).

  5. Casey August 3, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    woo hooo! Congrats to you 3 days! My favorite way to get rid of stress is mani/pedi 3 cheers for foot massages! 😀 and you can never go wrong with some good old time spent with your significant other when you can hang out and get that awesome and exciting feeling of being in love. oh boy, Ive watched too many romantic comedies lately..

  6. Eileen Klang August 4, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Plan your entire wedding in 3 months………….no time for stress…;)

  7. Nikki Kurowski August 5, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    well since I am not married…I deal with stress with deep breathing. I know it sounds really cheesy but I do it all the time! Even when I am in class with my students and they are driving me crazy I just breathe deeply in front of them and they even know, “oh shoot, Miss K is getting mad.” hahaha! I also noticed that if I don’t work out in the morning, I get stressed more easily. so, Exercise! Which is what you have been doing! I am sure when I plan my wedding and it’s “wedding week,” i will be a chicken with my head cut off because i have a feeling my family will be heavily involved and that stresses me out. haha. congratulations erica!!!!

Leave a Reply

