Sugar, Sugar

28 Jul

It’s not secret than I’m a big sugar fan; I love desserts & have a really difficult time turning down any chocolate, cookies, & of course, cake.

Mmmm the good stuff!(source)

A while ago, there was a segment on the Rachael Ray show about our nation’s sugar consumption & how much we should really be taking in. (I know, this is the second time I’ve referred to the Rachael Ray show; who knew it provided such a plethora of information?!)

Here’s a link to the summary of the episode I’m referring to: Jorge Cruise’s Weight Loss Secrets.

I remember being shocked when I first watched this episode back in January – Jorge Cruise, author of The Belly Fat Cure, suggested we should only be taking in a measly 15 grams of sugar per day! Say what?! My daily Chobani usually has at least that amount!

Chobani(source)

He discussed a few other common “health foods” & their sugar content:

  • Instant Oatmeal –> about 20 grams
  • Fruit (apple or banana) –> 14-20 grams of sugar
  • Crackers –> 10-12 grams of sugar

**********

I think most people have heard how one can truly become “addicted” to sugar – the more you eat, the more you crave. I certainly agree with this; for example, if I eat a sugar-laden breakfast, I’m more likely to crave sweet treats throughout the day as well.

However, I think the 15 grams of sugar per day goal is a bit unattainable! I’m not going to avoid a certain food, (like my beloved Chobani!) just because that’s pushing me toward my sugar quota for the day. And avoiding foods like apples & bananas because of their sugar content? That just seems sort of off, doesn’t it? I remember being particularly struck by this episode, because he failed to mention the health benefits of some foods that might be “high” in sugar.

What do you all think?

Do you watch your sugar intake closely? I’ll be the first to admit, I can easily go overboard with sugars in dessert form, but I refuse to limit myself from eating truly healthy foods, like fruit, because of their natural sugars!

10 Responses to “Sugar, Sugar”

  1. eat healthy. be happy. live well. July 28, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I have done my best to avoid foods with added sugar in them (yes, even Chobani yogurt!). I honestly make most stuff at home, so I can use maple syrup and honey to sweeten up anything instead of white sugar. I do not limit my intake of natural sugars in fruit. I typically eat an apple and/or a banana a day. Plus, I load my smoothies with lots of fruits. Like you said, there are so many healthy benefits to these foods too!

    • forthesakeofcake July 28, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      I could definitely try to watch my added sugar more than I do, but there’s some stuff I just can’t give up, like my yogurt! 🙂

  2. Meredith @ food, shoes, and booze July 28, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I just discovered your blog 🙂 this post is soo interesting.. 15 g a day seems impossible! I’ve switched to plain Chobani yogurt and add honey and bananas to it, but that’s about all i’ve done to avoid added sugar! I’m sure I’ll pay closer attention now 🙂 I’m curious to see how many grams I eat a day.

    • forthesakeofcake July 29, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      I agree! When I heard 15 grams I was totally shocked! I know I eat waaay more than that! I used to keep track of my food intake with an app on my phone & the sugar was never, ever close to 15 grams… whoops!

  3. stephsnacks July 29, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    It’s funny you mention this diet because I actually did it for about a month. I did find that it helped a bit, although I didn’t do it AS vigilantly as I should have. While I do watch my sugar/carb intake, I have not watched it as much lately since I’ve been working out quite a bit and sometimes really crave the carbs.

  4. Heather @ Get Healthy with Heather July 29, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    I honestly don’t watch my sugar intake much because the majority of the food I eat is natural and good for you. Most of my sugar comes from fruit but to me there is nothing wrong with that!

  5. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles July 29, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I totally don’t watch my sugar in fruits and whole foods. I think it is good to reset your body and cut back on all sugar for a couple of days, BUT not for good. I do watch my sugar but I agree that the 15 grams is WAAAYYY beyond what I could do, considering I eat a banana almost every day…

    • forthesakeofcake July 29, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

      Yeah, I usually indulge a lot on the weekends & try to limit super sugary foods at the start of a new week! 15 grams seems unattainable for almost anyone!

Leave a Reply

