I Can Eat

27 Jul

I’m going to share with you all a wonderful little place nestled in the fields of Lancaster County, PA — Shady Maple; more specifically, the “Smorgasbord.” Yes, I ate breakfast at a place with the word “smorgasbord” in the name, so you know you’re in for a treat! 🙂

You can read a little about Shady Maple by clicking the link above, but to sum up, it’s pretty much a giant all-you-can-eat buffet filled with some of the most delicious food I’ve ever tasted! I’ve only gone for their breakfast buffet, but they are open for lunch & dinner, too!

Shady Maple(source)

I went with my dad this morning, & it was just under $20 for the two of us to get our grub on!

My first stop is always the pancake grill! This place is not healthy; how do I know? Well the worker spraying the griddle with Crisco before plopping down the magical pancake batter was a dead giveaway! 😉

I went with a blueberry pancake & added some syrup & a tiny sprinkle of powdered sugar:

Blueberry pancakeNext, it was time to hit the real buffet (or I guess I should call it the “smorgasbord”).

Breakfast buffet(source)

Here’s what my second plate looked like:

Plate of yummy food!

Clockwise from top left… baked French toast, 2 slices of bacon, turkey sausage with cheese in the middle (ohmygoodness), baked oatmeal, & some sort of hash brown bake.

Proof that I can put away a serious amount of food in one sitting! 🙂

I also enjoyed a mug of coffee, & went back for a bowl of fruit to end my meal with something light:

Fresh fruit

After I came home (& digested for quite a while) I hit the gym. This blog is supposed to be about balance, right? So I had to balance out the ginormous breakfast I ate with some time on the elliptical… no biggie!

Do you have a place like Shady Maple where you live? I’ve haven’t been to many buffet-style restaurants where the food is good, but this place is the exception!

4 Responses to “I Can Eat”

  1. Rachel Zeigler July 27, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    I am super jealous there is no place better than Shady Maple :-). My mouth is watering now from looking at those pictures.

  2. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles July 28, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    We do not have one, but WOW it all looks good! ….Make sure you aren’t too busy to eat on your wedding day. That is one thing I’d change about mine. THought I’d share that tid bit…. TAKE TIME TO EAT, you want to know how it tasted. People will come talk to you, just make sure you eat the food you picked out!

    • forthesakeofcake July 28, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

      That’s great advice, & something I’m definitely going to do! I can’t NOT eat!

Leave a Reply

