An Important Errand

25 Jul

I feel like every post from here until August 6th could be titled “important errand,” & it would be an accurate description of the post! All of those little things that we said “Oh we’ll do that later,” or “That’s a ‘last minute’ thing,” need to be taken care of – now!

Before I ran today’s “important errand,” I woke up & headed to the gym. I had a rather indulgent weekend – attending a wedding, going out to dinner, & enjoying takeout – so I wanted to get back into my normal routine first thing this morning.

When I got home from the gym, I whipped up some cherry-chocolate-walnut oats! I included the  same ingredients that I used in last week’s oats, but I added in some cherries.  Cait always makes the most delicious-looking breakfasts with cherries, so she definitely inspired this breakfast! I quickly “chopped” the cherries so I wouldn’t have to deal with the pits as I was eating; can’t have anything slowing me down during feeding time! 😉

Chopped cherries Toppings

I added chopped walnuts, mini chocolate chips, & chia seeds. I also enjoyed a Dunkin Donuts iced coffee on the side (seriously, someone enroll me in a 12-step program – stat!).

Close-up My obsession

Before I left for my “important errand,” I enjoyed BFL – breakfast for lunch. I didn’t snap any photos, because it was filled with my usuals.

I was all set to go & headed to Weaver Nut Company in Ephrata, PA (about a 40 minute drive for me). I had a very serious quantity of bulk candy to pick up! If you’ve planned a wedding recently, you might have some guesses as to what all of this candy is for!

Of course, it started down-pouring as soon as I arrived for my pick up, & continued to storm as I ran into the warehouse, then the retail shop, & my entire drive home… delightful!

Ominous sky!This place is the stuff SkinnyRunner’s dreams are made of:

Candy, candy, & more candy

After I weighed my car down with 30+ pounds of candy, it was time to head home. Luckily though, before I left, I spotted homemade organic peanut butter & grabbed some to add to my purchase! (I figured I deserved a little treat after driving there & back in a monsoon.)

I made it home, & unloaded my purchases:

Candy!Then it was time to dig into the peanut butter! I stopped myself from consuming the entire container by the spoonful & made a quick snack:

Homemade pb!  Delicious! Snack time Now, it’s time to work on some more wedding tasks & stuff for school. I’ll leave you with a few pictures of Stewie because, well, why wouldn’t you want to look at pictures of him?!

Close... Closer...

Closest!What’s your favorite kind of candy? I have to go with gummy sharks! (Do you all know what I’m talking about?) There may, or may not, be gummy sharks in some of those bags! 😉

6 Responses to “An Important Errand”

  1. Alicia Endy July 25, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Black licorice is my favorite candy.

    • forthesakeofcake July 25, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      There might be something in those bags that’s in the same “candy family” as black licorice! 😉

  2. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles July 25, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Any and all candy. I just like it sweet. …I like chewy things, hard candies, melty things,…. you get the picture. Chocolate would be the one candy I couldn’t live without!

  3. cleaneatingchelsey July 26, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Oh yes.. the last final days! My husband and I joke that we spent more money in the last two weeks of planning our wedding than we did the rest of the time!

    • forthesakeofcake July 26, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      I would definitely agree with that! The little things add up!

Leave a Reply

