Bob & Ashley’s Wedding

23 Jul

In yesterday’s post, I mentioned that Chris & I would be attending a wedding; Chris was actual part of the bridal party! We met Bob & Ashley a few years ago; Bob used to be the drummer in Chris’s band, Always Second Favorite.

The wedding took place at the Sheraton Great Valley in Malvern. I didn’t get many successful shots during the ceremony but here’s one of Chris & the best man, Rob, & other groomsmen, Jarrod (both Rob & Jarrod are in our wedding, too!).

Ceremony      After the ceremony, we moved to the cocktail hour, where the following appetizers were available:

  • Pork & Vegetable Pot Stickers with Ginger Soy Sauce
  • Vegetable Spring Rolls with Sweet Thai Chili Dipping Sauce
  • Scallop Wrapped in Bacon with a Maple Glaze
  • Miniature Beef Wellington

I tried both a scallop & a veggie spring roll & both were delicious!

During the cocktail hour, guests could paint their name or a message for the couple on a blank canvas:

Guest "book"      Next up we moved to the reception space, where the first dance, parent dances, cake cutting, & speeches took place before dinner.

Best man's speech  Centerpieces   Maid of honor's speech

Parent dances Cake!    Cake cutting

Next up was dinner! The first course was a salad – mixed baby summer greens with crumbled mild goat cheese, candied pecans, craisins, & balsamic vinaigrette dressing. I also enjoyed a buttered roll with my salad.

Salad Roll

Guests had a choice of chicken or salmon for dinner; I went with the chicken – Coq au Vin, breast of chicken braised in red wine with caramelized pearl onions, mushrooms & bacon served with horseradish scented Yukon gold mashed potatoes & fresh steamed green beans.

Dinner is served! I really enjoyed the bacon topping on the chicken, as well as the mashed potatoes! I’m a mashed potato lover! 😉

After dinner, the night continued with dancing. I did enjoy a piece of cake, but my picture didn’t turn out! 😦 It was very good, & I especially loved the thick, sugary frosting – my favorite kind of frosting!

My last two pictures of the evening are of my handsome date & I, & an awkward self-portrait of my outfit 😉 (for those of you who care, the dress is from Ann Taylor circa 2009!).

2 weeks 'till our wedding!  Outfit

**********

Despite the late evening, I still managed to get up & out the door for BodyPump this morning! Surprisingly, my little at home arm workout from yesterday left me quite sore this morning, but I was able to power through! 😉

Before I “sign off” for the day, I must wish my mom a Happy Birthday! My mom has been such a big help to me lately with all of the wedding mania taking place! So Happy Birthday Mom, thanks for all you do!

Mom & I Mom & daughters

Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend! 🙂

What’s your favorite part of weddings?

I’m a sucker for the ceremony!

15 Responses to “Bob & Ashley’s Wedding”

  1. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles July 23, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Happy Birthday to your mom!!!!!
    Aww, the wedding looks great! Any new ideas? ….THAT DRESS! I love your dress!!!!

    • forthesakeofcake July 23, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      I liked their guest “book” but we’re doing something different, too! Thanks! I’ve gotten a lot of use out of it! 🙂

  2. stephsnacks July 23, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    The dress you wore to the wedding is beautiful!

  3. Donna Komorosky July 23, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Thanks Honey for the Happy Birthday Wishes and my presents, you will always be my baby girl and pretty princess, even though in a few short weeks you will become Mrs. Lukes!

  4. eat healthy. be happy. live well. July 23, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    My favorite part of weddings is the dancing!!! I also love seeing the bride’s dress and the bridesmaids too. Can’t wait to hear more about your wedding and what your favorite part will be!!

  5. Cait's Plate July 24, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Aw what a beautiful wedding! You look so cute! I love the reception – I’m a sucker for a good party 😉

  6. Kelsey July 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    LOVE YOUR DRESS- such a pretty lady 🙂
    Wow that cake is sooo modern and fun! love that!

    xoxo

    • forthesakeofcake July 24, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      Thank you! I liked their cake too… the style & the taste! 🙂

  7. Keri @ Blue-Eyed Runner July 24, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    What a fun wedding!! Nice job getting up early to work out 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Important Errand « For the Sake of Cake - July 25, 2011

    […] “important errand,” I woke up & headed to the gym. I had a rather indulgent weekend – attending a wedding, going out to dinner, & enjoying takeout – so I wanted to get back into my normal routine […]

Leave a Reply

