Ready to Go!

21 Jul

After today, I feel completely ready to go for the big day! Of course there are still things to get done, but I had my second dress fitting, & the dress fit perfectly (with the exception of a tiny bit of additional hemming – I’m short!) & it made me so excited to wear it for a whole day, rather than just a quick half hour! I can’t wait to share it with everyone after the big day.

I took lots of pictures, so let’s get going with today’s recap, shall we? 🙂

We arrived in New York City around 1:00 & my appointment at Kleinfelds was at 2:00. I was with my sister, Corinne, & one of my bridesmaids, Sara. We decided to pick up a quick bite to eat at Telegraph Cafe in Chelsea. My mom, sister, & I actually ate there when I first said “yes to the dress” last year! I went with 1/2 a caprese sandwich – tomatoes, mozzarella, & avocado with an Italian dressing! It was a scorcher in NYC today, so I only went with a 1/2 sandwich since I didn’t know what I could handle in the heat. I also enjoyed an iced tea on the side. Oh! And I have to share that today was my first time trying avocado, & I really, really liked it!

Caprese      OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next was the fitting, & I think I’ve summarized pretty well how that went! It made everything much more “real” to have my dress on & to have it fitting without clips holding it together! We took a few commemorative pictures outside of the store, as our final pick up will probably be our last visit there! (Until my big sis walks down the aisle at least! ;-))

Sara & I        Corinne & I

Next, we were on a mission – a very hot, sweat-dripping-down-your-face mission… cupcakes!!! My first Crumbs cupcake was had back in February when Chris & I went to New York to see American Idiot on Broadway. Why are these stores so inconspicuous?! I had difficulty finding the store both in February & today (different locations), but the hunt is so, so worth it! (I know both Tina & Gabriela can vouch for how amazing these cupcakes are!)

Cupcakes! We’ll get back to these later…

We had finally had enough of the heat, & caught the train that would take us back to Trenton, then we’d hit the road back to PA. Of course we had to end our day with a dinner stop, & where better than The Cheesecake Factory? I started with a piece of their yummy bread with some butter.

Bread & butter For my entree, I chose the 4 cheese pasta. I have no idea why I always seem to choose this there – it’s obviously something I could make at home – but of course it’s much more delicious when someone else makes it for me! Also, after our sweaty trek around the city all day, I was really craving carbs. And carbs I consumed!

Pasta bowl the size of my head! Sara & I Corinne

Of course, there were some leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

Doggie bag Finally, it was time. Time to dig into one of those big cupcakes that had been staring me in the face all afternoon! I had bought 4; I still don’t know why, because I can’t imagine eating 4 of these very rich cupcakes in the next few days, but stranger things have happened…

I decided to go with the “Happy Birthday” cupcake — “vanilla cake mixed with rainbow sprinkles filled with vanilla butter cream mixed with rainbow sprinkles topped with vanilla cream cheese frosting edged with rainbow sprinkles and yellow rosette in the center.”

I cut myself half, because I certainly ate a very rich dinner! It was so, so, so good!

Cupcake Cupcake

Cupcake All gone!

And with that, I’ve got a perfectly-fitted wedding dress, a full tummy, & several reasons to hit the gym hard tomorrow morning! 😉

Enjoy your evening!

Is it H-O-T where you live?!

I can’t complain because I love summer & much prefer being hot to being cold!

9 Responses to “Ready to Go!”

  1. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles July 21, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    What an amazing day! Putting on the dress that is ‘yours’ is a crazy feeling, isn’t it? THAT will be the dress you say ‘I do’ in! So happy for you! It will be the time of your life!!!!
    Oh those cupcakes!!!! I love the sprinkles! (Imagine that;)) I totally would have done the birthday cupcake too! YUMMMMMM!

  2. Cait's Plate July 21, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Crumbs cupcakes are definitely amazing. I wish I had one to be eating right now! So glad you’re all set – can’t believe how soon it is!!

    • forthesakeofcake July 21, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

      If I could share with you I would! Having them all to myself is dangerous!

  3. Lauren July 22, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Oh my gosh that’s so exciting congrats! It is super hot here in NC – too hot to do anything but lay in the AC.

    • forthesakeofcake July 22, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      Thanks! Yes, this heat is oppresive… guess it’s all over the east coast!

  4. stephsnacks July 22, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Sounds like SUCH a perfect day. I must admit that one of my favorite shows is Say Yes to the Dress 🙂 Being that I live in NYC… I am STILL DYING OF THE HEAT TODAY! It is crazzzyyy!

    • forthesakeofcake July 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      I love “Say Yes to the Dress”! Ugh we didn’t think we were going to make it out alive yesterday! haha It’s VERY hot in PA today, too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. These are a Few… « For the Sake of Cake - July 22, 2011

    […] late for me, even though it’s summer vacation! I guess walking around New York City in 100* heat yesterday really took it out of me. When I woke up, I headed to the gym & completed an elliptical […]

Leave a Reply

