The Birthday Month

14 Jul

Hi everyone! It’s Thursday… only one more day until the weekend. (Which means nothing to me since I’m a teacher on summer break, but I know the rest of the world feels differently! ;-))

First, a little recap of yesterday’s wrapping extravaganza…

An entire roll of wrapping paper later…

Wrapping         Chris’s presents were all set to go…

Presents     I’ll let you know how he liked everything in tomorrow’s post!

**********

I was up & at BodyPump for the 6:00AM class today. I stayed after & completed 20 minutes on the elliptical. (I knew there would be spoonfuls of chocolate frosting consumed some special birthday festivities tonight, so I figured a little extra activity would be a good idea!)

This afternoon, I headed to my wedding hair & makeup trial. Of course I don’t want to reveal any shots of the “final do,” but I’ll share with you all one of my favorite “inspiration” photos that I brought with me…

Wedding hair 1 (source)

I knew I wanted it up (it’s likely going to be hot) & off to the side… as far as the rest, you’ll have to wait until after the big day to see! 😉

**********

After my appointment, it was time to get crackin’ on Chris’s birthday treat – Boston Cream Cupcakes! (Enter copious amounts of chocolate frosting consumption; why is it so good?!) Chris loves Boston Cream Pie, & when I saw this recipe in one of my Hungry Girl e-mails last week, I knew this would be what I’d make him for his birthday. You can find the original recipe here & my (few!) adaptations below:

Boston Cream Cupcakes

Makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1/2 a box of yellow cake mix
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white
  • 1/2 c. water
  • Chocolate frosting
  • Chocolate syrup
  • 1 vanilla pudding snack
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350* & line muffin pan with cupcake liners.
  • Combine the cake mix, eggs, & 1/2 c. water; whisk; distribute into muffin pan.

Ready to whisk

  • Bake for about 20 minutes (until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean).
  • Allow cupcakes to cool completely.
  • Combine chocolate syrup (2 tbsp.) with chocolate frosting (3 tbsp.) until smooth; cover & refrigerate.

Chocolate glaze

  • When cupcakes are cool, insert a hole in the center of each.

Cut-out cakes

  • Place contents of the pudding cup (mixed with vanilla extract) into a sandwich bag; snip a small piece of the corner off, & pipe the pudding into the cupcakes.

Filled cakes

  • Spread frosting/syrup mixture over cupcakes.

Finished product

  • Enjoy! And refrigerate any leftovers! 🙂

Not surprisingly, I had an “assistant” again today:

"I'll taste-test!"    A dog can dream!

I sampled one of these (as the baker always must) & it was delicious! I’ll let you know tomorrow if the birthday boy approved! 😉

Mmm        Mmm Good!

Speaking of tomorrow… the 15th is my dad’s birthday! Oh, & the 23nd is my mom’s birthday. And my aunt’s is the 24th! This is seriously the birthday month in my family! That’s fine by me; it just means lots of celebrations! 🙂

I’ll be back tomorrow with a re-cap of Chris’s birthday. Enjoy your evening!

When’s YOUR birthday?

Mine’s February 5th… any birthday twins out there?

4 Responses to “The Birthday Month”

  1. eat healthy. be happy. live well. July 14, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Lucky you for having the summer off!! My honey does too, but he’s on the farm all day, so it’s not like he’s really at home to get much done.

    Sounds like you have an eventful next few weeks! My best friend’s b-day is tomorrow as well! My birthday is January 11- easy to remember since it is 1-11 🙂

    I swear I know like 12 people born on February 6th, but not many on the 5th!

    • forthesakeofcake July 14, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Having the summers off is the BEST!

      Yes, I’ll definitely be busy the next 3/4 weeks! 🙂

  2. Cait's Plate July 15, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Ah, we’re close! I’m February 8th! Yay for Februray babies 🙂 And happy birthday to Chris – hope it was a success!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chris’s Birthday Recap « For the Sake of Cake - July 15, 2011

    […] dinner, Chris came back to my house for presents & his Boston Cream Cupcakes, which he really […]

Leave a Reply

