3-Ingredient Dinner

13 Jul

Happy Wednesday!

Tomorrow is someone special’s 25th birthday, so today was spent running lots of birthday errands! He’s going to be a spoiled boy, & I’m even baking a special treat for him.

**********

In this month’s issue of Real Simple magazine (one of my favs!) there’s a feature on “3-Ingredient Recipes.” I usually like to read my magazines sequentially, cover-to-cover (because I’m looney! ;-)) but I had to skip ahead to check out some of their creations! I spotted a recipe for grilled portobello quesadillas, & decided that would be tonight’s dinner!

Grilled Portobello Quesadillas (from pg. 172 of Real Simple, July 2011)

*Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 4 medium portobello mushrooms (I bought organic because they were the same price as the “regular” ones!)
  • About 2 tbsp. olive oil*
  • Salt & pepper for seasoning*
  • 8 flour tortillas
  • 2 c. grated pepper Jack cheese

* = not counted as an “ingredient”

Directions

  • Heat grill (or grill pan) to medium. Brush 4 medium portobello mushrooms with olive oil & season with salt & pepper.
  • Grill, covered, until tender, 8-10 minutes per side (mine cooked up much quicker!).
  • Thinly slice mushrooms.
  • Lightly brush 1 side of each of flour tortilla with olive oil.
  • Form sandwiches with the tortillas, mushrooms, & pepper Jack.
  • Grill, covered, until the cheese is melted & the tortillas are crisp, 1-3 minutes per side.

Portobellos    Grillin'

I topped my quesadilla with plain Greek yogurt, & I’m glad I did – they were a little spicy! I have a very low tolerance for spicy food, though, so I might not be the best judge. The pepper Jack was the star of the show – spicy or not! I used this kind, by Sargento:

01102-8oz-Pepper-Jack-Shred(source)

Quesadilla!     This was simple & tasty – my favorite kind of dinner! 🙂 Of course, you could spice this up by adding more veggies, & I had originally intended to! Then I got to the store & realized I was cheap & 3 ingredients would suit me just fine. 😉

Someone was interested in what I was serving up…

Tyson         Can I have a taste?

I’m off to start wrapping the birthday boy’s presents! Have a wonderful evening!

(Random) question for tonight…

What are some of your favorite magazines?

I have subscriptions to Real Simple & Shape!

9 Responses to “3-Ingredient Dinner”

  1. Cait's Plate July 13, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Well seeing as I work for a publishing house I think have to choose ones it produces – so I’ll say Real Simple, Cooking Light and Health (since I used to work at it!)

  2. Corinne July 13, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Haha I miss my Tysie boy!

  3. stephsnacks July 14, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I love Woman’s Health, Shape, Style, and People!

  4. aflourishingfoodie July 14, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    I love Real Simple! And I’m pretty convinced that portabello mushrooms make everything taste better 🙂

    • forthesakeofcake July 14, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      I’m not usually a huge fan of mushrooms, but this was really good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chris’s Birthday Recap « For the Sake of Cake - July 15, 2011

    […] dog really likes to get in on the […]

  2. Too Hot to Shop « For the Sake of Cake - July 18, 2011

    […] I took the “insides” out of the burrito, & added some pepper Jack cheese from last week’s quesadillas. […]

Leave a Reply

