Asian Salad Recipe

9 Jul

Happy weekend everyone! 🙂 Hope it’s off to a great start.

This morning I hit the gym first thing & completed 20 minutes on the treadmill followed by BodyPump class. I upped my weights on the squat track & I’m definitely going to be feeling it tomorrow!

Later this evening, I’m headed over to Chris’s house to celebrate his birthday a little early. His actual birthday is this Thursday, the 14th, but they’re having their family celebration tonight.

You might remember the Asian salad side dish I had at my family’s 4th of July festivities last Sunday. This dish was brought by my aunt, who said the recipe was given to her a long time ago from a friend.

This salad is so good, so I asked for the recipe to make as my contribution to tonight’s celebration. And now I’m going to pass it along to all of you! 🙂 (Thanks Aunt Tisa!)

Asian Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 bag of cole slaw mix
  • 1 bunch of green onions/scallions
  • 1/3 cup unsalted peanuts (I added in a little more than 2 handfuls)
  • 1 tbsp. slivered almonds (I used more than this)
  • 1 & 1/2 tbsp. sesame seeds (Again, I added in about 1 & 1/2 handfuls, give or take)

For the dressing…

  • 1 Ramen Noodle chicken-flavored powder packet (I got one of these packages)
  • 1/4 c. rice wine vinegar
  • 1/3 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/4 c. sugar

Ingredients Directions

  • Combine the cole slaw mix, scallions, peanuts, almonds, & sesame seeds; mix together & refrigerate.
  • Mix the chicken-flavor, vinegar, veggie oil, & sugar to make the dressing.
  • Just before serving, toss the slaw with the dressing & add the crushed, un-cooked Ramen noodles for extra crunch (the best part! ;-))

Mixed salad Dressing Crunchy topping

Now I just have to keep myself from digging in before the party!

Enjoy your Saturday evening! 🙂

What are you doing this weekend?

What’s your go-to party recipe?

One Response to “Asian Salad Recipe”

  1. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles July 9, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    I know that recipe…. The best thing about it: it only gets better with time! 🙂 Have fun at the birthday party!

Leave a Reply

