Failure or Success?

7 Jul

I love to bake. In fact, I’ll take baking over cooking any day, but I think I’ll have to learn to love cooking soon when I become a newlywed!

I had some Trader Joe’s walnuts to use up, plus some chocolate chips from last week’s chocolate chip cookies.

I visited Supercook.com, where you can enter ingredients you have on-hand & a list of possible recipes is generated. I was immediately intrigued by these cookies – dubbed “Magic Walnut Cookies.”

I followed the instructions pretty closely. First, I chopped up my walnuts. I think one of my first “failures” was chopping instead of grounding them (I think a super-fine texture would have worked better to achieve the cookie effect).

Walnuts Next, I mixed the chopped walnuts with 2 egg whites. The recipe called for 1 cup of sugar, but I used a little less than that & a squirt of honey.

I dropped the “dough” onto a cookie sheet, & baked them for about 8 minutes.

Ready to bake Ready to bake

As the cookies were baking, I melted about a cup of mini semisweet chocolate chips in the microwave. I usually don’t have much luck with this melting method, but luckily I didn’t burn anything today – success!

Yum!Well, I should have known from some of the “reviews” on this recipe, but these little walnut dollops did not bake like a cookie. I let them cool for about 2 minutes, but when I tried to move them from the baking sheet, they came apart & were pretty much the same consistency as when they went in the oven – fail!

I tried desperately to make these cookies a success by “reforming” them into a cookie shape, dropping a spoonful of chocolate on top, then toping with an additional walnut “cookie.”

Ready for the freezerTo help them solidify, I popped them into the freezer for a few minutes.

The end result was very, very sweet; dare I say too sweet? I have the biggest sweet tooth ever, so if I’m saying these are too much, there’s a problem.

I’ll definitely give them another chance, but if I try this recipe again, I’ll definitely cut back on the sugar & not pretend that I’m going to end up with real cookies in the end! 😉

Finished product  Not so bad after all?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you consider yourself better at cooking or baking? What’s your favorite thing to cook/bake?

6 Responses to “Failure or Success?”

  1. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles July 8, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    For some strange reason, it COMPLETELY depends on the day! I never know when I’ll completely flop when making something…. I just hate that I never see it coming! Ugh. Those cookies look good in your pictures, we would have never known. Too sweet, huh?!?! I’m with you on the whole sweet tooth business.

    • forthesakeofcake July 8, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      My mom and fiance really enjoyed them (they’re my official taste-testers!) so my opinion could have been affected by the copious amount of “dough” I consumed! 🙂

  2. Cait's Plate July 8, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    I think baking is definitely my forte! I love to cook but I don’t do it enough – I need to take a couple classes so I can learn more 🙂

    Those cookies look delicious anyway!

  3. stephsnacks July 8, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I’m much more of a baker and I am totally relaxed while doing it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Waiting Game « For the Sake of Cake - July 8, 2011

    […] I had quite a few samplings of yesterday’s “cookies,” I didn’t have much of an appetite for the pizza in the evening, which ended up being a good thing […]

  2. Full House « For the Sake of Cake - July 11, 2011

    […] cookies turned out great! Definitely a step up from last week’s “Magic Walnut Cookies” . These are very hearty, filling, & healthy-tasting, but still […]

Leave a Reply

