31

6 Jul

Thirty-one days to go until the big day! Exactly one month from now, I’ll be married! 😀

Today started out a little later than usual. I slept until 9:00, which is the latest I think I’ve slept all summer so far. First thing on the agenda was taking the pooch to the vet.

Pug! No vet!    After that, I had to run a wedding errand – a quick stop at the bakery to get the details on our wedding cake! I found a picture on The Knot that we’re using for inspiration. I don’t want to give away details of the appearance, but the cake itself is going to be a mix of chocolate cake with raspberry filling & yellow cake with lemon filling… yum! 😉

After the bakery, it was time for some food! Today’s lunch was simple… half a peanut butter & jelly sandwich (yes, I’m 5!) with a blueberry Chobani & some leftover fruit salad (which I sadly think is on it’s last leg).

Lunch       Lunch

After a few other wedding “to-dos” & trying (unsuccessfully!) to figure out the furniture situation, I finally headed to the gym.

Since it’s summer break, I have really been enjoying going to the gym in the morning! It was difficult to drag myself there this afternoon, & it will be hard to start going in the evening once school starts again. I wish I didn’t leave for work at 6:30 every morning & could squeeze an early gym session in, but that’s not happening!

Today’s Workout

  • Elliptical (30 minutes)
  • Incline walking (15 minutes)

As I was working out (& watching Keeping up with the Kardashians reruns) I started thinking about what I wanted for dinner. Nothing from home sounded appealing, so I stopped at the grocery store for a salad. I’ve been trying to watch my spending on food, but was happy that this salad came in at under $4! Can’t beat that! 🙂

Dinner     In This Salad:

  • A mix of romaine, spinach, & (very peppery) arugula
  • Broccoli
  • Cucumbers
  • Shredded cheese
  • Eggs
  • Southwest chicken
  • Crunchy noodles

I topped the salad with some fat-free ranch, which I wasn’t expecting much of & turned out not to be too bad!

Off to hit the showers & find a snack! 🙂

(Sort of Random) Question for Tonight: What’s your favorite reality show?

I just started watching Keeping up with the Kardashians a few weeks ago, & wondered why no one told me how awesome it is! I also love Big Brother which starts up again tomorrow!

9 Responses to “31”

  1. Cait's Plate July 6, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Yay! So exciting 🙂 I’m currently watching Real Housewives as we speak but this was the year that will go down in history for my consumption of trashy TV. You name it, I watched it (except the Jersey Shore). Horrible but SO good.

  2. stephsnacks July 6, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I love love love the Kardashians! I also really enjoy the Real Housewives on BRAVO.. expect for the Atlanta series!

  3. Nikki Kurowski July 7, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Erica–
    I have signed up for your blog since I read it everyday. About working out in the morning…
    I find myself LOVING to work out in the morning. it is so much harder to work out after you have worked all day. So I have a few questions for you…

    1–What time does you school start?
    2–How far are you from school?
    3–Does your school have a decent fitness center?

    The reason I ask is because I work out in the morning before school at school. I work out at 6:00 and I went til my morning duty whcih was 7:12. Then I would shower during homeroom and be done. Now, it also helps that I had 1st block prep and it being a PE teacher, my hair doesn’t have to look fabulous. But if you had the time in the morning to really do everything at school…it honestly prepares you for the rest of your day. =)

    PS–how do you eat so many Chobani’s in one day? I tried them and I can’t get over the over the top texture… =(

    • forthesakeofcake July 7, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      Hi Nikki!

      We have to be there for homeroom by 7:30, but I’m usually in by 6:50/7 because I hate feeling rushed!

      I’m only about 10 minutes from where I work, so it’s not my commute; I’m just a slow mover in the morning!

      The “fitness center” at my school is really just a weight room, so there isn’t really anywhere to get my cardio done.

      It sounds like you were able to work out a good system! I might be able to get a quick workout in at my apartment gym rather than driving to my regular place. I’ll have to see what I can work out!

      I love Chobani! I usually restrict myself to one per day but could eat way more than that! The texture doesn’t bother me, but I’ve heard that from other people before. It’s way different than a regular Yoplait!

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

  4. Eileen Klang July 7, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Erica, I find myself going on your blog as much as FB!! It is a very enjoyable read. Thought I’d share something from my time at Colleen’s. She went to a nutritional, buddhist, zen retreat in Massachusettes a few weeks ago and learned all kinds of healthy eating which they call “Mindful Eating” (please ignore my caps and punctuation, I use them like salt and pepper)…anyway………she purchased a rice cooker (of course she bought the expensive kind with a timer and many settings, but you don’t have to). She now buy’s steel cut oats and puts them in her rice cooker with the timer set for 2 hours before she gets up and voila, the oatmeal is done perfectly and nice and hot. She then added fresh sliced apples and raisins when we were there. It was the best oatmeal I have ever had. I even ate it for dinner one night. I was thinking of variations such as dried cranberries and walnuts or bananas……….you could really try anything. The best part is you can make a lot and just microwave it in the mornings and add the fresh ingredients. Fast on the way out the door!!

    • forthesakeofcake July 7, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

      That’s a great idea & sounds yummy! I still have time to add a rice cooker to my registry, right? 😉

  5. Kristi @ Healthy Wife, Sweet Life July 8, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    I just stumbled upon your blog, congrats on your upcoming wedding!!!! How exciting, I just got married last month 🙂

    Unrelated to my recent wedding, my favorite reality TV show is definitely Real Housewives… either OC or NYC, don’t think I could pick one!

    • forthesakeofcake July 8, 2011 at 8:16 am #

      Thanks! And congrats to you too! I really like OC and Beverly Hills. 🙂

Leave a Reply

