Skinny Fat

5 Jul

Let me preface this by saying I did not intend to be posting so late! We were supposed to get furniture delivered to the apartment between 1:30 & 4:30, & let’s just say… it didn’t happen. 😦 But anyway… onto the important stuff!

**********

Did anyone else catch Rachael Ray this morning? I always DVR her show during the school year, since I’m not home to watch it, but I’m able to catch it live every now & then during the summer. The very first topic discussed on the show was interesting… the concept of “skinny fat.”

Essentially, a guest doctor studied two different women… one who was categorically “obese” but was very physical active & another who was very thin, but claimed to eat very unhealthy & rarely exercise. You can find a brief summary of the segment here.

I love stories & information like this. Skinny does not always equal healthy. You can lose weight by consuming 100 calorie packs for every snack, but that doesn’t make those foods good for you & your body. (That’s not to say I don’t enjoy a 100 calorie pack every now & then; just trying to make a point! ;-)) Now of course I’m no expert, but I’d rather eat real foods that I crave, & work out to maintain a healthy weight than simply eat diet food for the rest of my life.

I always need a snack when I come home from work, & up until recently, I would try & choose something I thought was “healthy” (insert rice cake consumption here). However, this would do nothing to satisfy my hunger. Now, since I’ve been more conscience of my eating, I’m more inclined to have an apple with peanut butter. Which is higher in fat & calories? The apple & peanut butter! But which is “real” food & is actually what I’m craving? Again, the apple & peanut butter! Eating good food that my body craves stops me from going back to the snack cabinet & consuming empty calories.

At the end of the segment, the doctor advised that people exercise for 35-45 minutes 3-4 times per week to stay at their healthiest… done & done!

Ok, enough rambling… 🙂

Nothing too exciting in the “eats” department today! Remember… I’m a creature of habit!

I had to be at the apartment for a good portion of the afternoon (for the furniture fiasco!) Before I left the house, I enjoyed an English muffin with a tiny bit of butter & jelly, & topped with Chia seeds. On the side, a Chobani.

English muffin    English muffin

Pineapple... yum!       Ch-ch-ch-chia

I spent my afternoon unpacking, organizing, breaking down boxes, then did a whole lot of  waiting around. The whole waiting thing wouldn’t be so bad if we had cable & internet, but that’s not getting set up until Friday; so yes, it was rough!

However, things are starting to come together! And it’s finally time to relax! 🙂

Tell me… What are your thoughts on the concept of “skinny fat”?

5 Responses to “Skinny Fat”

  1. Eileen Klang July 6, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    It’s taken me a while to get out of the old 80’s mindset of all carbs and no fat diet. It was an eye opener when I started using myfitnesspal and realized I really should be getting between 60-70 grams of fat per day. I have been slowly trying to add good foods into my diet and feel so much better, especially with the exercise. I have a question, what are Chia seeds??

    • Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 6, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      I know! It’s definitely hard to change your thinking about that sort of thing! Chia seeds have no taste to them, but you can add them to pretty much anything (I usually add them to my English muffins & yogurt!) & it adds fiber & Omega-3s! I found these at Giant in their health food section.

  2. Cait's Plate July 6, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Totally agree with you on this post! Being skinny does NOT equal healthy. I just read an interview that Lily Allen gave saying that she knows so many people in Hollywood that absue Adderall to stay as thin as they are – case in point!

    In my college days before I really became interested in nutrition I ate more Zone bars than I care to admit – I’m MUCH happier now eating healthier, WHOLE food that might be more in calories but higher in nutrition as well! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 31 « For the Sake of Cake - July 6, 2011

    […] a few other wedding “to-dos” & trying (unsuccessfully!) to figure out the furniture situation, I finally headed to the […]

  2. The Waiting Game « For the Sake of Cake - July 8, 2011

    […] there was the furniture fiasco, which, by the way, has all been squared away! That required two days of me pretty much hanging out […]

Leave a Reply

