Picnic Eats

3 Jul

Hope everyone has been having an enjoyable holiday weekend!

This afternoon I headed to my aunt & uncle’s house for a family get together.

For my contribution, I volunteered to bring fruit salad. I saw this recipe on Chocolate-Covered Katie at the end of May, & had been looking for an excuse to try it out ever since.

On the menu was steak, two kids of salad (Greek & Asian), corn on the cob, & pizza potatoes. Here’s a look at how I balanced my plate:

Lunch    Steak, a few chips, Greek salad, Asian salad, & pizza potatoes

I enjoyed this plate with an un-pictured serving of corn on the cob. I also went back for seconds of the Asian salad… so delicious!

For dessert, we enjoyed the fruit salad I brought, plus a cake that my mom made.

Fruit salad   Fruit salad     The fruit salad was just as yummy as I expected it to be! I included cantaloupe, honeydew, strawberries, & blueberries.

The cake my mom made was dubbed “Poke Cake.” It’s a recipe that she’s had forever, & found several renditions of the same thing online. This cake was light & refreshing – perfect for a summer get-together!

Cake!       Here’s the recipe that she followed…

“Poke Cake”

Ingredients

  • 1 package whipped topping mix
  • 1 package instant pudding (4 ounces)
  • 1 & 1/2 c. cold milk
  • 1 package Jell-O gelatin mix
  • 1 box yellow cake mix

Directions

  • Dissolve gelatin with 3/4 c. boiling water & 1/2 c. cold water; set aside.
  • Mix & bake the cake mix according to package directions.
  • Cool cake 20-25 minutes. Poke holes on the top of the cake (hence the name!) about 1 inch apart & pour gelatin into holes; refrigerate.
  • For the topping, mix 1 package whipped topping mix with package of instant pudding. Add 1 & 1/2 c. cold milk & blend until stiff (about 8 minutes).
  • Frost cake & refrigerate!

Like I said, this cake is perfect for summer because it is so light, & you can mix up the flavor with different types of Jell-O!

My dessert plate It was a day full of good company & delicious eats! Now, I’m off to enjoy the rest of the night relaxing with Chris!

What did you do this holiday weekend?

3 Responses to “Picnic Eats”

  1. Cait's Plate July 3, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Oh man – that fruit salad looks AMAZING, as does that cake 😉 I certainly did my fair share of eating this weekend and I’m ready to get back to normal now!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy 4th! « For the Sake of Cake - July 4, 2011

    […] had a peanut butter & jelly sandwich on a bagel thin, plus some leftover fruit salad and a mango Chobani… quick, simple, & […]

  2. 31 « For the Sake of Cake - July 6, 2011

    […] half a peanut butter & jelly sandwich (yes, I’m 5!) with a blueberry Chobani & some leftover fruit salad (which I sadly think is on it’s last […]

Leave a Reply

