Extra Special Chocolate Chip Cookies

29 Jun

Let’s save the best for last, shall we? First, a recap of yesterday’s dress fitting…

Well I can sum this up quickly because it was awesome! My mom & I arrived in NYC around 2:15, & upon our arrival to Kleinfelds, found Kelly Ripa standing outside of the store! (She appeared to be getting ready to film something.) After our “celebrity sighting,” we got to the dress fitting & everything went perfectly. Of course I need some alterations, but the dress was just as beautiful as I remember it & I can’t wait to go back for fitting #2!

After waking up this morning, I checked a few items off my “to do” list, then headed to the gym. Today’s workout was 45 minutes on the elliptical.

**********

Now, onto the good stuff!

Let me preface this by saying I am not trying to pass this off as a healthy recipe. When I do desserts, I like to go big. The purpose of my blog is to show my attempts at balancing healthy eating choices & exercise all for the sake of being able to thoroughly enjoy cake cookies all desserts!

The original chocolate chip cookie recipe came about earlier this year on a snow day. I was bored & craving fresh-baked cookies, so I started searching online for an easy recipe. I couldn’t find one for which I had every ingredient, so I experimented & came up with my own little recipe. Well, today’s cookies are extra special because of these little guys…

Peanut brittleTrader Joe’s Soft Peanut Brittle

I picked up these delicious treats last week & just as I was finishing the bag, noticed the suggestion on the back of the bag to add these brittle bites to cookies! Cookies + peanut brittle = perfection! So on Sunday evening, I picked up another bag of the good stuff!

To make these fantastic cookies, combine the following:

  • 1/2 stick butter (melted)
  • 3/4 c. white sugar + 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1-2 tbsp. maple syrup (I ended up using about 1 and a 1/2.)
  • Splash of vanilla extract

Wet ingredients       Next, combine the following dry ingredients:

  • 1 and a 1/2 c. flour
  • 3/4 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tbsp. salt

Fold the dry ingredients into the wet & combine. Next, add in mini semisweet chocolate chips, & the extra special ingredient… chopped peanut brittle!

Ready to bake! Bake the cookies at 350* for 8-10 minutes.

This receipt makes about 24 cookies depending on how much batter you eat!

Cookies Cookies

Wow, wow, wow! These cookies are delicious  and they remind me a lot of Mrs. Fields! I only wish the peanut butter flavor were slightly more prominent!

Cookies

 If you don’t have a Trader Joe’s by you, I’d suggest substituting chopped Snickers for the brittle! 🙂

What’s your favorite dessert?

I love me some cake! 😉

Leave a Reply

