Reception Details

26 Jun

I’m excited to share with you all some of the details surrounding my wedding reception!

First up, the venue

When Chris & I first got engaged last April, this was the first thing we wanted to check off of our “to do” list. We knew we wanted a place that was a little out of the ordinary, & visited several potential venues before we found our perfect place!

The Phoenixville Foundry, located in Phoenixville, PA, is a renovated foundry, once the home of the Phoenix Iron & Steel Company.

The Foundry(source)

The building was abandoned after the steel industry declined, but was purchased in 2006 by a real estate developer.

Some more information from the Foundry’s website…

Blending old & new, a unique band of clerestory windows remain dividing the double-tiered roof structure allowing light to pour into the column free open space. Inside, there is a huge wooden cantilever crane still in its original location & thought to be the last & largest of its kind in the entire United States.”

This was exactly what we were looking for when we decided we wanted a “different” venue & we can’t wait to celebrate with our friends & family on August 6th!

Interior Interior

Interior

(source)

**********

Next up, let’s talk food (obviously this was of high importance to me!).

There are many different catering companies that work with the Foundry. We met with two, & settled on J. Scott Catering. We were able to work with them to develop a delicious, totally customized menu. Our guests have their choice of the following for their entree:

  • Sliced beef sirloin with bourbon gorgonzola sauce
  • Chicken breast stuffed with spinach, red peppers, & feta with lemon caper sauce
  • Vegetable wellington puff pastry filled with mashed potato, summer squash, goat cheese, & topped with sautéed mushrooms

My family & I completed our tasting last August, & while everything was delicious, we all loved the vegetarian option… I think that’s what I’m going with for my meal choice, actually!

J. Scott Catering also handles the set-up of our tables & coordinates other aspects of the event. We can’t wait to see how everything comes together!

**********

Last, the color selection…

I love purple & knew I wanted to incorporate it into our wedding colors somehow!

We ended up deciding on deep purple with a light blue. I’ve been carrying this swatch around with me for the past 14 months:

Wedding colors (I don’t know why the words came out so blurry. The colors are eggplant purple with baby blue & chambray blue.)

Purple is our main color, accented by the blue hues & ivory.

Tell me…

If you’re married, what were your wedding colors? If not, what do you imagine they’ll be?

Chris & I are off to dinner tonight to celebrate our 5 year anniversary (which is actually tomorrow). I’ll be back with a recap tomorrow morning! 🙂

2 Responses to “Reception Details”

  1. Er June 27, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    I am glad I found your blog as I am currently planning my wedding! The venue looks stunning, and I agree, food is the most important!

  2. forthesakeofcake June 27, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Thanks! And congrats on your upcoming wedding! 🙂

Leave a Reply

