The Who & The What

25 Jun

I mentioned on my About Me page that I’m a high school English teacher. I figured some one you might be wondering a little more about my occupation, & if you’re not, well… tough cookies! 😉

My first year of teaching I taught American literature to 11th grade students. I worked at a small, Catholic high school, so I literally taught the entire 11th grade. I loved this job, but moved onto to a different high school after I completed my first year of teaching.

For the past two years I’ve been teaching 10th & 11th grade students. The 10th grade students study a survey of literature, & the 11th grade students focus on American literature. In addition to literature, we study grammar, vocabulary, & writing. For this upcoming school year, I plan to have the same schedule (as far as I know!) & I’ll also be picking up the yearbook class, which should definitely be an “adventure.”

I became an English teacher because that was always my favorite class when I was in school. Actually, I didn’t realize people didn’t enjoy English until I started student teaching! What?! Everyone doesn’t love to read & write?! Preposterous!  I’ve always enjoyed writing & would feel more comfortable writing an essay than completing a test.

I figured I’d share with you all a just a few of my favorite novels, some of which I’m lucky enough to teach!

The Great Gatsby Of Mice & Men 14499757

(source)                                       (source)                                 (source)

  • The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Of Mice & Men, by John Steinbeck
  • They Cage the Animals at Night, by Jennings Michael Burch
  • The Bell Jar, by Sylvia Plath
  • The Help, by Kathryn Stockett
  • Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut
  • If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, by Laura Numeroff 😉

55774783                                                             (source) 

Three questions for tonight!

1) What was your favorite subject in school?

2) If you had to pick one favorite book, what would it be?

3) Are you currently reading anything? If so, what?

Here are my answers:

1) English… duh!

2) The Great Gatsby

3) Water for Elephants

3 Responses to “The Who & The What”

  1. Gigi June 26, 2011 at 6:01 am #

    I also love English, but am a bilogy major! lol My 11th grade English teacher, is by far by favorite teacher I have ever had! I love the Great Gatsby.:)

    • forthesakeofcake June 26, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      Love, love, love The Great Gatsby! I’ve heard that someone is making a new movie version of the novel; I’ll be the first in line the day it comes out!

  2. Charles J. Shields June 26, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    If you like Vonnegut, you might be interested in my experiences as his biographer at “Writing Kurt Vonnegut” at http://www.writingkurtvonnegut.com

    Best,

    Charles J. Shields
    And So It Goes: Kurt Vonnegut, A Life (Holt, November)

Leave a Reply

