Archive | 9:57 pm

A Creature of Habit

24 Jun

One of the reasons why I decided not to blog about every meal that I eat is because… well… I eat the same stuff – a lot. Here’s a quick run-down of some of my favorite daily staples.

Usually I begin my morning with a Thomas’ English Muffin. I love the cinnamon-raisin variety with a tiny bit of butter & jelly (or blubarb sauce) on top… YUM!

Lunch time usually includes a sandwich, oftentimes made on a Thomas’ Plain Bagel Thin. (Hmmm I’m seeing a pattern with the Thomas’ products!)

English muffins  Bagel thins

I also need to have something crunchy with lunch, & will frequently enjoy a bag of Smartfood White Cheddar Popcorn.

Also, at some point during the day, a Chobani (or two!) is consumed.

Popcorn Chobani

I try to have fruit as a snack at some time during the day as well; I especially enjoy bananas, strawberries, & apples.

SAMSUNG

Of course this is only a (small) fraction of the food I eat, but it gives you an idea of some of the foods I enjoy each day.

**********

Today I opted out of going to the gym. For the past few days I haven’t been feeling that great & I decided to give myself a rest day. (I was happy to see I wasn’t the only one.)

This afternoon my mom & I had a meeting with our caterer at our wedding venue to go over a few different things. Then, we decided to keep the “wedding fun” going by running some errands for items needed for the reception.

Enjoy your Friday evening & happy weekend! 🙂

Do you have any “daily staples”?

Meet Stewie

24 Jun

Stewie & Chris

Stewie is my pug; he’s a little dog with a big personality.

In July of 2009, I moved into my own apartment. By August, I knew I needed a dog! I had always grown up with a pooch, & things just didn’t seem “normal” without one.

I started checking out local shelters, & one night came across a picture that changed my life. It was a little black pug, sitting in a crate with only a little hamburger toy to keep him company. The shelter was about an hour away from where I lived, so I called them first thing the next day & asked them to put a hold on “Bubba” (his old name, which he still answers to occasionally).

My parents, Chris, & I all headed to the shelter the following day. When we got there we were shocked to see “Bubba’s” condition. He was so skinny (you could see his ribs) & he was missing a lot of hair on his back from a flea infection. I couldn’t tell any of this from the picture I saw online, but there was no way I could leave this poor little guy.

This is a picture that shows the condition he was in when we picked him up (I think it’s from our second day with him):

 Stewie         It took a little while, but soon Stewie was happy & healthy in his new home. He’s now pleasingly plump, & often gets compliments on his “beautiful coat.”

He has truly stolen not only my heart, but the hearts of my family & pretty much everyone he meets. He’s so friendly, and he loves attention!

There are still many mysteries surrounding Stewie… We have no idea how old he is. At his first vet visit in August 2009, they predicted he was probably around 2 or 3 years old. We also have no idea how he came to be a shelter dog. From his condition when we picked him up, it appears he was on his own for a while (they shelter hadn’t had him for too long), but he is such a good dog that we don’t understand who would have let him become a stray.

I’ll leave you with a few more pictures of this little doggie that has become such a big part of my life:

Relaxing with his buddy, Chris  Dressed up for his first Halloween He loves to sleep! Going for a ride

Do you have any pets? If so, what kind?