Truer Words…

23 Jun

“I don’t think any day is worth living without thinking about what you’re going to eat next at all times.” –Nora Ephron

I saw the above quote as I was reading the July issue of Real Simple magazine. That quote really rings true for me. As soon as I’m done with a meal or snack, I like to think about what I’m eating next! 😉

Today’s Workout

BodyPump, followed by 20 minutes on the elliptical.

Back in May, I saw this recipe on the Rachael Ray show, & knew that it was something I wanted to make! The sauce looked amazing, & amazing it was. I took a stab at this recipe last week, & used the “blubarb” sauce on top of pork chops. There was some sauce left over after dinner, & I quickly found out this sauce is not just good with meat. Throughout last week, I put the sauce on top of both oatmeal & English muffins & it was so yummy!

Blubarb Sauce (adapted from Rachael Ray’s recipe)

Ingredients

  • About 2 tbsp. butter
  • 1/2-1 lbs. rhubarb stalks, chopped into 1.5 inch pieces
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 c. or pint of fresh blueberries
  • About 2 tbsp. lemon juice

Ingredients

Directions

  • Melt the butter in a sauté pan over medium-high heat & add the rhubarb.
  • After a few minutes, add the sugar around the pan. Season with salt.
  • Add blueberries & lemon juice.

Combine all ingredients

  • Stir occasionally; cook until the blueberries burst & a sauce forms, about 20 minutes (If you’re like me, you can use these 20 minutes to clean up the sugar you spilled all over the floor.)

Almost done!

  • Store refrigerated in an airtight container.

Completed sauce

Like I said, this sauce was meant to go over meat (chicken or pork), but I think it’s even better incorporated into breakfast foods!

SAMSUNG            Tonight, my mom & I are off to meet with our wedding photographer. Enjoy the evening; it’s almost the weekend! 🙂

What’s your all-time favorite breakfast food?

One Response to “Truer Words…”

  1. foodsweatandbeers June 26, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    French toast is DEFINITELY number one in my book (in fact, i am fully looking forward to making some tomorrow morning!)

Leave a Reply

